To the One Who Thinks Too Much

Dear Friend,

Do you ever feel like the world is crashing in on you? Like you have too many thoughts and ideas in your head that you cannot process them all? Do you care so deeply about so many things that you cannot seem to handle?

“What do people think of me of me?”

“I have so much to do right now.”

“I am surrounded by all of these people, yet I feel so alone right now.”

You cannot enjoy a simple gathering with friends, because your other obligations are weighing you down and clogging your mind with thoughts. Maybe you are someone who thinks about the future so much that you are always planning five steps ahead of everyone else.

“I don’t know what I’m doing with my life.”

“I’m not good at anything.”

“Why does everyone else seem to have it together but me?”

You think deeply and love hard. You get confused with those who seem to not have a care in the world and live in the moment. When you try to relax, your mind never shuts off.

“I wonder how he/she is doing…”

“I wish I didn’t care as deeply as I do.”

“Why do I feel like I do so much, yet am not good enough?”

If you feel like you’re alone in this, don’t worry. You’re not alone. I understand.

Even more than that, the Lord understands. When we get caught up in plans and thoughts, He will bring us to a place of rest, as long as we let Him. When we are filled with worries and fears about the future, He will remind us that He is in charge of the future, and we are called to live in the present. When we cannot stop thinking, we are called to direct our thoughts to Him.

Living a life of constant thinking is a struggle. It may get easier as time goes on, but it will never be easy. The good thing is that we have Someone more powerful than ourselves, fighting out our behalf. Rest in Him.

We’re in this together and we have the greatest Advocate that anyone could ask for. So don’t fret, my friend; know that you’re not alone.

Love,

The One Who Gets It

Leave a Reply

